U.S. Department of Defense - Missile Defense Agency

U.S. Department of Defense - Missile Defense Agency

Site Map


2014 Technology Achievement Award Winners

Pre-Mission Debris Modeling and Analysis

Mr. Zachary Glueckert

VADM James D. Syring, MDA Director, presents the 2014 Technology Achievement Individual Award to Mr. Zachary Glueckert during the Ronald Reagan Missile Defense Forum held at Fort Belvoir, Va.Mr. Zachary Glueckert provided exceptional technical expertise and innovation towards tackling one of the Missile Defense Agency’s (MDA) most challenging problems: pre- and post-intercept debris (PID) modeling. In support of the Signatures Working Group (SWG), his chuff (post burn debris from solid fuel rockets) and PID analysis was vital in ensuring mission success. Adequately modeling debris in pre-mission analysis has increasingly become a critical factor in predicting the performance of participating radars and the overall mission success for Ballistic Missile Defense System (BMDS) flight test events.

Mr. Glueckert took the initiative to co-develop an analysis tool that automated the quick post-processing of chuff and PID data into quantifiable metrics, statistics, and plots used by the SWG to assess the fidelity and effectiveness of the debris models. He also added a Correlated Statistical (CORS) model to a chuff piece mapping capability, enabling instant chuff piece counts based on desired detection criteria and CORS bin elimination. The tool facilitates quick-look analysis, rapid risk assessment prior to use in System Post Mission Tests, and rapid responses to frequently asked “what-if” questions. This tool represents a huge technological contribution to the MDA, solving issues surrounding a historically difficult subject and saving significant time and effort. For example, within two days of receiving initial chuff product delivery, the MDA was able to perform signature analyses and develop a Flight Test Operation (FTO)-01 SWG briefing. This tremendous efficiency facilitated communicating expected scenes to the elements and, more importantly, identified key initial data issues leading to a larger technical data investigation.

Mr. Glueckert also served as the lead for FTO-01 Defense Design effort and was responsible for developing and maintaining the system defense design and the operational overlays. Because FTO-01 was the first to use warfighter training scenarios prior conduct of a BMDS flight test, Mr. Gluechkert’s assessments ensured all scenarios were executable within the defense design.

The FTO-01 Test Team relied heavily on his analysis to reduce the risk of scenario redesign in the field, mitigating schedule slips and additional costs. For his effects, Mr. Glueckert is recognized as the 2014 Individual Technology Achievement Award Winner.

Aegis Ashore Design Team

Captain Jeffery Weston, Mark Newkirk, Dave Turowski, Trevor Reitz, Jack Kelly, Michael Shaffer, Nick Pelosi, Russell Forman, Kyle Halberston, Rusty Adams, Alan Reif, Andrew Brown, Felix Stankevicius, Dr. Kevin Brennan, Dennis Carlson.

VADM James D. Syring, MDA Director, presents the 2014 Technology Achievement Team Award to the Aegis Ashore Design Team during the Ronald Reagan Missile Defense Forum held at Fort Belvoir, Va.The Aegis Ashore Design Team has been selected for the 2014 Technology Achievement Award due to their outstanding innovation and significant technical achievements designing the Aegis Ashore deckhouse and sub-assemblies in support of program requirements and meeting the demanding schedule associated with this presidential mandate.

In just three years, two deckhouses were designed, developed and constructed. In addition, during this period, the Aegis Weapon System was integrated, installed, and successfully tested three times in the deckhouses—an unprecedented feat in such a short time. As a result of their technical excellence, coupled with an innovative modular approach, the multi-organization government/contractor Aegis Ashore Design Team has made it possible.

The following are just some examples of the innovations that have enabled program success:

  1. The deckhouse is a completely modular design that can be constructed, taken apart and reconstructed while at the same time withstand stressing environmental and seismic conditions;
  2. The bolted design contains various adaption pieces which allow for the offset of stringent design tolerances that would have otherwise been on the building itself making it much more difficult to produce and construct;
  3. The Aegis Ashore design incorporates an innovative “skid” concept which allows hundreds of electronic weapon system caliber components and thousands of cables to be installed, not individually as on a ship, but instead on approximately 60 aluminum skids which can then be rolled into and out of the facility without removing any of the hardware, piping or cables—the skids have reduced the time it takes to install and deinstall the equipment by over 50%; and
  4. A unique antenna frame design allows arrays to be installed in the deckhouse in a matter of hours vice several weeks as onboard ship—this is remarkable given tolerances for this complex design are only a few thousandths of an inch.

For their innovative technical design and achievement, the Aegis Ashore Design Team is recognized as the 2014 Team Technology Achievement Award Winner.